Joint press release by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMUV), the German Environment Agency (UBA) and the International Design Centre in Berlin (IDZ)

Nominees selected for the German Ecodesign Award 2023

26 projects have a chance of winning the award at the prize-giving ceremony on 4 December

The jury posing in front of a buildingClick to enlarge
The jury of the German Ecodesign Award 2023

Members of the jury from left to right: Siddharth Prakash | Anja Hanslik representing Dr. Bettina Hoffmann MdB | Werner Aisslinger | Dr. Bettina Rechenberg | Prof. Dr. Claudia Perren | Prof. Matthias Held | Prof. em. Anna Berkenbusch | Prof. em. Günter Horntrich | Prof. Friederike von Wedel-Parlow

Source: Sandra Kühnapfel © IDZ

Imaginative, ecological and forward-looking, the competition was fierce: Out of around 150 submissions considered at the jury meeting in the Metropolenhaus Berlin, 26 innovative projects made it to the final selection. These will now have the chance to win the German Ecodesign Award 2023. The prizes will be presented by Federal Environment Minister Steffi Lemke on 4 December.

The German Ecodesign Award is the highest national award for ecological design in Germany. Since 2012, the competition has been organised annually by the Federal Environment Ministry and the German Environment Agency in cooperation with the International Design Center Berlin.

Dr Bettina Hoffmann MdB, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for the Environment (BMUV) and jury member: "The submissions for the German Ecodesign Award 2023 are impressive. Many companies and research institutions are leading the way and implementing concrete projects to shape the transformation towards greater sustainability⁠. The innovations are there, the German Ecodesign Award brings them from the niche into the mainstream. Similarly, the Federal Ministry for the Environment is promoting ambitious standards with mandatory measures for product-related environmental protection."

Dr Bettina Rechenberg, Head of Department III "Sustainable Products and Production, Circular Economy" at the German Environment Agency (UBA) and jury member: "The ecological design of products and services plays a key role in the necessary transformation of our society. I was very impressed by the numerous submissions from established companies as well as design offices, start-ups and universities. The German Ecodesign Award acts as a catalyst to stimulate and publicise innovative and forward-looking ideas."

This year, around 360 projects were submitted by companies, design, engineering and architects’ offices as well as research institutions and universities in the four categories of product, concept, service and young talent. A committee consisting of experts from the German Environment Agency and the Advisory Board initially pre-selected around 150 entries that were then admitted to the jury session. During the two-day meeting, the interdisciplinary jury selected 26 nominees who now have a chance to win the German Ecodesign Award 2023.

The projects will be on public display for one week in the Metropolenhaus in Berlin. Anyone who wishes to get an impression of the colourful variety of projects submitted is cordially invited to attend. The exhibition will be opened with a ceremony and vernissage at 6 p.m. on 29 September. From 30 September to 3 October 2023, it will also be open to the interested members of the public daily from 12 to 4 p.m. Further details can be found on the website of the German Ecodesign Award.

All nominees will be featured in an online galery. Here is a brief overview of the nominated projects in detail:

Young talent category

Concept Category

    Service Category

    Product category

    The jury for the German Ecodesign Award 2023

    • Werner Aisslinger (Product Designer)
    • em. Anna Berkenbusch (communication designer, professor em. at the Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design Halle)
    • Matthias Held (product designer, professor at the HfG Schwäbisch Gmünd)
    • Anja Hanslik (Head of the Department "Sustainable Consumption, Product-Related Environmental Protection" at the BMUV) on behalf of Dr. Bettina Hoffmann MdB (Parliamentary State Secretary at the BMUV)
    • em. Günter Horntrich (Product Designer, Professor em. for Design and Ecology at the KISD - Cologne International School of Design)
    • Bettina Rechenberg (Head of Department III "Sustainable Products and Production, Circular Economy" at the UBA)
    • Dr. Claudia Perren (Architect, Director of the Basel Academy of Art and Design)
    • Siddharth Prakash (Head of the Circular Economy and Global Value Chains Group in the Product and Material Flows Division at the Öko-Institut in Freiburg)
    • Friederike von Wedel-Parlow (fashion designer, founder of the Beneficial Design Institute)

    Information on the competition  

    Contact for images
    Luisa Stibbe | presse [at] bundespreis-ecodesign [dot] de

    German Ecodesign Award Office
    c/o IDZ | International Design Center Berlin e.V.
    Markgrafenstr. 88 | 10969 Berlin-Kreuzberg

    Postal address: Hagelberger Straße 52 | 10965 Berlin

    Tel. +49 30 61 62 321-22

    presse [at] bundespreis-ecodesign [dot] de

    Umweltbundesamt Headquarters

    Wörlitzer Platz 1
    06844 Dessau-Roßlau

    Printer-friendly version
     Bundespreis Ecodesign