Joint press release by the German Environment Agency (UBA), Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB) and International Design Center Berlin (IDZ)

More than beautiful: Jurors select nominees for German Federal Ecodesign Award 2016

Federal Environment Ministry (BMUB) and German Environment Agency (UBA) award ecodesign for the fifth time

group photo: 10 men and women in front of a building with the writing "Kunstgewerbemuseum"Click to enlarge
The Federal Ecodesign Award jury represent design, architecture and environmental protection.

FLTR: Werner Aisslinger, Prof. em Günter Horntrich, Magdalena Schaffrin (on behalf of Prof. Friederike von Wedel-Parlow), Dr. Thomas Holzmann, Dr. Claudia Perren, Prof. Matthias Held, Rita Schwarzelühr-Sutter, Frank Wellenreuther (on behalf of Andreas Detzel), Prof. Anna Berkenbusch, Dr. Ulf Jaeckel

Source: IDZ / Kühnapfel Fotografie

The nominees for the Federal Ecodesign Award 2016 have been selected. A total of 26 projects, services and concepts have won over the interdisciplinary jury for their design and benefits for the environment. Federal Environment Minister Barbara Hendricks will be conferring the prize to the winners during an awards ceremony being held at the Federal Environment Ministry on 28 November 2016.

More than 350 submissions – more than ever before – entered the contest for this year's coveted Federal Ecodesign Award. Some 160 entries have been pre-selected by the team of experts from the German Environment Agency and the project's panel of experts. The entries were presented to the jury at the Museum of Decorative Arts (Kunstgewerbemuseum) in Berlin on 10 October 2016. After long deliberations in consideration of the four competition categories Product, Service, Concept and Young Talent, the jury has nominated 26 projects from the categories Product, Concept and Young Talent for the German Federal Ecodesign Award 2016.

Parliamentary State Secretary Rita Schwarzelühr-Sutter emphasised the great feedback to the Award, saying: "The number and quality of submissions over the past five years are evidence that the German Federal Ecodesign Award has become an important factor in the promotion of sustainable design."

Vice-President Thomas Holzmann of the German Environment Agency was equally pleased at the response, saying: "Since the first round of this competition five years ago, the number of entries which are already on the market in the category Product has increased many times over. That is proof for us that ecodesign and the Federal Ecodesign Award are known on the market."

The Federal Ministry for Environment and the Federal Environment Agency have awarded the Federal Ecodesign Award every year since 2012 with the cooperation of the International Design Center Berlin (IDZ). The prize is addressed to businesses in all industries and of all sizes. Start-ups or market leader, local vendors or global players: all are welcome, as are designers and marketing agencies, architects and engineers. This year's prizes will be awarded in the categories Product, Service, Concept and Young Talent.


Werner Aisslinger (product designer)
Prof. Anna Berkenbusch (communications designer, Professor at University of Art and Design Halle)
Andreas Detzel (Environmental expert, ifeu, Heidelberg)
Prof. Matthias Held (Product designer, Professor at University of Design Schwäbisch Gmünd- HfG)
Dr. Thomas Holzmann (Vice-President, German Environment Agency)
Prof. em. Günter Horntrich (Product designer, emeritus Professor for Design and Ecology, KISD)
Dr. Claudia Perren (Architect, Director, Bauhaus Dessau Foundation)
Rita Schwarzelühr-Sutter (Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety BMUB)
Prof. Friederike von Wedel-Parlow (Fashion designer, Professor at ESMOD Berlin International University of Art for Fashion)

More about the jury:

More information and photos

More about the competition:

For photo material contact: presse @

Umweltbundesamt Headquarters

Wörlitzer Platz 1
06844 Dessau-Roßlau

Printer-friendly version
 Bundespreis Ecodesign  ecodesign  German Federal Ecodesign Award